Shortly after Kalambaka is the picturesque village of Kastraki, which stretches at the base of the giant rocks of Meteora. The imposing, cut-off rocks, which in some cases reach a height of 400 meters, are considered a unique geological phenomenon. They cover an area of about thirty kilometers.
Their name "Meteora" is more recent. It derives from Saint Athanasios the Meteorite, owner of the monastery of the Transfiguration of the Savior (Great Meteoron), who called the rock complex the "wide stone", which he first climbed in 1344.
The six visitable monasteries of Meteora today are restored and with most of their frescoes preserved. In 1989, Unesco enlisted Meteora on the World Heritage List as it met both cultural and natural criteria.